Google+ Badge

Nobel Prize 2011

Nobel Prizes 2011

Nobel Prize in Medicine/Physiology 2011 - Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann ("for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity") and Ralph M. Steinman (Died: 30 September 2011) "for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity".

Nobel Prize in Physics 2011 - Saul Perlmutter, Brian P. Schmidt and Adam G. Riess. "for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae"

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2011 - is awarded to Dan Shechtman "for the discovery of quasicrystals".

Nobel Prize in Literature 2011 - is awarded to Tomas Tranströmer "because, through his condensed, translucent images, he gives us fresh access to reality".

Nobel Peace Prize 2011 - is awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee & Tawakkul Karman "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work".

Nobel Prize Fact’s:

● Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. In 1968, economic sciences added to the the list of fields.

● The Nobel Laureates are announced at the beginning of October each year.

● A couple of months later, on 10 December, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death, they receive their prizes from the Swedish King – a Nobel diploma, a medal, and 10 million Swedish crowns per prize.

● All Nobel Prizes are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, except for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Only Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway.

● Between 1901 and 2010, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 543 times.

● 817 Laureates and 23 organizations have been awarded the Nobel Prize between 1901 and 2010.

● The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 91 times to 121 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2010 – 98 times to individuals and 23 times to organizations.

Only 41 Nobel Prizes to women!

Indian Nobel Laureates:

  • Amartya Sen - Nobel Prize for Economics in 1998
Prof. Amartya Sen is the first Asian to have been honoured with the Nobel Prize for Economics.
  • Subramanian Chandrashekhar - Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983
  • Mother Teresa - Nobel Peace Prize in 1979
  • Hargobind Khorana - Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968
His major breakthrough in the field of Medicine - interpreting the genetic code and analysing its function in protein synthesis - fetched him the Nobel Prize.
  • Chandrashekhar Venkataraman - Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930
India's first Nobel Prize for Physics was claimed in 1930 by the renowned physicist Sir C.V. Raman.
Sir C.V. Raman received the Nobel Prize for an important optics research - what is now popularly known as Raman Effect.
  • Rabindranath Tagore - Nobel Prize for Literature(साहित्य) in 1913
Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian ever to receive a Nobel Prize.

He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in recognition of his work Geetanjali, a collection of poems, in 1913.

No comments:

Post a Comment