Google+ Badge

Current Affairs January 2012

1. Which 2 Indian umpires and judge have been appointed for Hockey event in London Olympics 2012 ?

Ans:- R.V.Raghu Prasad and Claudius De Sales

2. What bank account facility is set to be launched in India?

Ans:- Bank Number Portability

3. who has been chosen for UNESCO-Kalinga Prize 2011 ?

Ans:- Dr. Rene Raul Drucker(Mexican scientist )

4. How many districts in Chhattisgarh State ?

Ans:- 27 Districts (Chhattisgarh has added nine new districts on 01 Jan 2012)

5. Who was awarded the Mahatma Gandhi International Award 2011 for Peace and Reconciliation ?

Ans:- Dalai Lama, Tibetan spiritual leader

6. What is the First Car Model name of Bajaj Auto(India's leading 2-wheeler manufacturer) ?

Ans:- RE 60

7. Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (Non-resident Indian Day) ?

Ans:- 7–9 January Every Year in India

8. Where was held Pravasi Bhartiya Divas (NRI Day)from January 7th to January 9th 2012 ?

Ans:- Jaipur, Rajasthan

9. Who was the Chief Guest at the 10th Pravasi Bhartiya Divas being held in Jaipur ?

Ans:- Ms. Kamla Prasad Bissesar (President of Trinidad and Tobago)

10. Who won the ATP Chennai Open 2012 doubles title?

Ans:- Leander Paes(India) and Janko Tipsarevic (Serbia)

11. Who won the ATP Chennai Open 2012 Single title ?

Ans:- Milos Raonic (Canada)

12. Who is the winner of Bigg Boss season 5 ?

Ans:- Actress Juhi Parmar

13. Who won 2012 Brisbane International singles title ?

Ans:- Andy Murray

14. Where was held 11th Auto Expo 2011 ?

Ans:- New Delhi, India (It is Asia's largest and the world's 2nd-largest motor show.)

15. Who won FIFA Men's World Player of the Year Award 2011 ?

Ans:- Lionel Messi (Argentina)- Lionel Messi claiming the title of world player of the year for the third time in a row.

16. Who won FIFA Women's World Player of the Year Award 2011 ?

Ans:- Homare Sawa (Japan)

17. Name the Yahoo co-founder who resigned as chief executive officer recently.

Ans:- Jerry Yang

18. Who won FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men's Football ?

Ans:- Josep Guardiola (Spain)

19. Who won FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women's Football ?

Ans:- Norio Sasaki (Japan)
20. Which bollywood actor is campaigning for clean voting?

Ans:- Aamir Khan

21. Who won gold medal in Asian shooting championship in Doha ?

Ans:- Abhinav Bindra (India's Olympic shooting champion)

22. Which Australian cricketer achieved 13,000 run mark in test cricket recently?

Ans:- Ricky Ponting

23. Who won the Ranji Trophy 2011-12 ?

Ans:- Rajasthan by defeating Tamil Nadu

24. Which country is set to join European Union in 2013?

Ans:- Coratia

25. Who is appointed as Managing Editor of Wall Street Journal?

Ans:- Raju Narisetti

26. Who has been awarded Ashok Chakra posthumously for LOC encounter?

Ans:- Lieutenant Navdeep Singh

27. Who has been appointed as officer in the general division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to cricket?

Ans:- Ricky Ponting

28. Where was held 17th National Youth Festival-2012 ?

Ans:- Mangalore

29. Where was held 5th World Future Energy Summit on January 16, 2012 ?

Ans:- Abu Dhabi

30. Who won the men's title at the 76th Senior National Badminton Championship, Bangalore ?

Ans:- Saurabh Verma

31. Who won 76th Senior National Badminton Championship Women's title ?

Ans:- P.V. Sindhu (Pusarla Venkata Sindhu)

32. What is current cash reserve ratio (CRR) in India set by the RBI on 28 January 2012 ?

Ans:- 5.5 % (RBI cut the CRR by 50 basis points from 6 % to 5.5 %)

33. Where is Swami Vivekanand Airport in India ?

Ans:- Raipur (Chattisgarh ): -Union Cabinet renamed the Mana Airport at Raipur as the Swami Vivekananda Airport
34. Which controversial Novel of Salman Rushidie's in baned in India ?

Ans:- The Satanic Verses

35. Which Photography Pioneer eastman Company filed for Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Protection ?

Ans:- Kodak

36. Who is the Chief Guest at the 63rd Republic Day celebrations in New Delhi ?

Ans:- Mrs Yingluck Shinawatra ( Prime Minister of Thailand )

37. Woman Indian Air Force (IAF) officer, who has led a contingent at the 63rd Republic Day parade for the first time in Indian History ?

Ans:- Flight Lt Sneha Shekhawat

Australian Open 2012 ( Hard court )

38. Who won the 2012 Australian open Men’s Singles title ?

Ans:- Novak Djokovic, Serbia | Runner-up: Rafael Nadal (Spain)
39. Who won the 2012 Australian open Women's Singles title ?

Ans:- Victoria Azarenka (Belarus)| Runner-up: Maria Sharapova (Russia)

40. Which player played his 1000th tennis match in 2012 Australian open tennis championship?

Ans:- Roger Federer

41. Who won the Mixed Doubles in 2012 Australian open tennis championship?

Ans:- Bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA) and Horia Tecau (Romania)

42. Who won the Men’s Doubles in 2012 Australian open tennis Championship?

Ans:- Leander Paes (India) and Radek Stepanek (Czech Republic)

43. Who won the women’s Doubles in 2012 Australian open tennis championship?

Ans:- Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) and Vera Zvonareva (Russia)

44. Who has become the first Indian tennis player to win a Career Grand Slam by winning the Australian Open men's doubles title ?

Ans:- Leander Paes

No comments:

Post a Comment